Bill Gates never took a day off in his twenties

Clearly I have a lot of catching up to do. I hope he did go out to play and exercise.

So one thing is circumstance. Microsoft grew gangbusters in Bill's twenties. But PG also pointed out that all he did during the startup days was: work and go running. Clearly I am not on that level. Yesterday Dad told me he worked 14-15 hours days in his twenties, thirties even. Only Sunday is the day he seems to get any rest even today. So clearly I am not functioning at the same level of dedication.

Short productive bursts. Not insane long hours of inefficiency. But growth and carefully orchestrated plans. 

So here's what I am going to do. Carefully planned days. Lot of execution.

I never make new year resolutions. But having a plan is not bad at all.

My plans
  • Grow startup to reach $1 M in revenues by January 31st 2012. Need to figure out what needs to happen here, but this is the bottom line goal. $1M today is a lot less compared to Bill's time adjusted for inflation.
  • Ultimate Frisbee. Get to top 10 players level in Delhi this year by December 31st 2011. Need to run every day for that.

I'll break it down further in future post. But lets go.