Default download link should be a torrent

I am downloading Lubuntu (a lightweight version of Ubuntu). The torrent download is going at 240KB/s = 1.8 Mbps. My ISP gives me an advertised .5Mbps. So this sweetness is courtesy the 80 seeders of Lubuntu out there.

Well I guess in this day and age, the only monolithic things you download are the OS, the browser and the IDE. Aah, well. Be kind to your favorite Linux hosting sites. Use a torrent. They weren't built purely for illegal music you know.

-----------------------------------

As an aside, here are my reasons to install Linux: I am sick of Windows, I am trying to learn Lisp and the uber cool crowd says I need emacs, I am going to play with either Jekyll or Hyde, so I need either RoR or Django. Good good.

----------------------------------

[EDIT] Further update on the install experience: VMware workstation 6. Lubuntu. Install is a breeze and I have a SSD so I don't feel the disk I/O crunch. Installing VMware tools. Now my question is: How the hell does a linux distro ship without GCC? To quote Mcgrof: Oh Lords of Kobol! Installing gcc-4.1 I feel brand new. Last compiler I worked with was gcc3.2.

The distro did come with Python. No ruby. Aah well, everything's an apt-get away (until it isn't). Its good to be back. Hopefully no major time sucks.