India is a value market

Until it isn't. Without having seen data on either side. It might be something entrepreneurs need to crack open.

I hear this assertion from other struggling entrepreneurs, mostly anecdotal data points. But USA is a value market too in my opinion. It should be true in India too.
One key realization (a fairly obvious one) is that human intervention while prohibitively expensive in the US is infinitely cheap in India. I think this is changing due to schemes like NREGA but its a long term trend. (NREGA's future sustainability notwithstanding. Human labor is bound to get expensive considering the insane inflation).

Lets do a bit of analysis:
Selling to the US market for a clearly identified pain point has the advantage of selling to a mature market. An example is visualwebsiteoptimizer where corporations in the US whip out their credit cards and sign up. (A Value service compared to Omniture etc). Paras tells me Indian corporations want a in-person demo while he is selling to a global audience from his room over webex. So much clearer and quicker sales cycles.

I need to study and quantify Indian corporate IT + Technology spending. Mostly I am trying to figure out which markets to focus my energies on in a potential new future venture.
Since I have a couple of products aimed at the Indian customers already in hand, I need to figure out a sustainable sales and marketing strategy.

(An incomplete post. I'll ramble on to distill a few things. Using Paul Graham's mechanism of writing essays to clarify thoughts.)