Learning Ruby (RoR) the hard way?

I am fairly fluent in Asp.Net MVC. (Seriously how bad is Microsoft at branding). This is Microsoft's RoR clone/poor cousin. I got fluent in it while building cleartax.in
ClearTax started its life as a desktop product so we used .NET and it was natural to use MVC for creating the product.

I find myself productive and its quite easy to churn out a website or two in very little time especially using AppHarbor. (Heroku for .NET). Case in point is Hackers and Founders, Delhi
Also I enjoy using C# 4 which is fairly functional and has dynamic as a data type for quickly creating non-static data types.

Now I am coding up something new and learning Rails. I am not too familiar with Ruby. Rails 3.1 is very different from the early Rails I had experience with. Everything's like "new black magic" compared to Asp.Net MVC. Also all these awesome and quirky gems. So life is hard again where I am learning a new language and a new framework and getting a simple app up as soon as I can.